Laws, Regulations & Annotations

Property Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2014
 

Revenue and Taxation Code

Property Taxation

Part 8. Distribution

Chapter 1c. Redemptions

Section 4656.5

4656.5. Distribution of redemption fees. All redemption fees collected for property tax-defaulted prior to January 1, 1984, shall be distributed 50 percent to the State of California for deposit in the General Fund and 50 percent to the county that is the situs of the tax-defaulted property for deposit in its general fund. Redemption fees collected for property tax defaulted on and after January 1, 1984, shall be distributed five dollars ($5) to the State of California for deposit in the General Fund and ten dollars ($10) to the county that is the situs of the tax-defaulted property for deposit in its general fund.

History.—Stats. 1983, Ch. 1224, in effect January 1, 1984, added "collected prior to January 1, 1984," after "fees" in the first sentence, and added the second sentence. Stats. 1985, Ch. 316, effective January 1, 1986, substituted "tax-defaulted property" for "tax-sold Land" after "the" in the first sentence, and substituted "tax defaulted" for "sold to the State" after "property" and substituted "tax-defaulted property" for "tax-sold Land" after "the" in the second sentence. Stats. 1986, Ch. 1420, effective January 1, 1987, added "for property tax-defaulted" after "fees collected" in the first sentence, and substituted "collected for" for "on" after "Redemption fees" in the second sentence.