Laws, Regulations & Annotations
Business Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2015
Hazardous Waste Fee Health and Safety Code
CHAPTER 6.5 HAZARDOUS WASTE CONTROL
Article 9.1. Facilities and Generator Fees*
25205.15. Manifest fee. (a) Except for the first four manifests used in a calendar year by a business with less than 100 employees, and except as provided in paragraph (2), in addition to any fees to cover printing and distribution costs, the department shall impose a manifest fee of seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) for each California Hazardous Waste Manifest form or electronic equivalent used after June 30, 1998, by any person, in the following manner:
(1) The department shall bill generators for each California Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest form, manifest number, or electronic equivalent used after June 30, 1998. The billing frequency specified by the department may range from monthly to annually, with the payment by the generator required within 30 days from the date of receipt of the billing, and shall be determined based on consultation with the regulated community. In preparing the bills, the department shall distinguish between manifests used solely for recycled hazardous wastes and those used for nonrecycled hazardous wastes. In determining the billing frequency, the department may take into account each person's volume of manifest usage.
(2) (A) The manifest fee shall not be collected on the use of California Hazardous Waste Recycling Manifests that are used solely for hazardous wastes that are recycled.
(B) The manifest fee for each California Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest form used solely for hazardous waste derived from air compliance solvents, shall be three dollars and fifty cents ($3.50). This is in addition to any fees charged to cover printing and distribution costs.
(3) The department shall implement a system for the use of manifests that distinguishes among recycling manifests used solely for hazardous wastes that are to be recycled, manifests used solely to transport hazardous waste derived from air compliance solvents, and general manifests that may be used for transporting waste for any purpose.
(4) (A) If a person erroneously reports on a California Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest that the manifest is being used for the transport of hazardous wastes that are being shipped for recycling or for the transport of hazardous wastes derived from air compliance solvents rather than the transport of other types of hazardous waste, the person shall pay the seven dollars and fifty cents ($7.50) manifest fee and an additional error correction fee of twenty dollars ($20) per manifest, as required pursuant to Section 25160.5.
(B) Notwithstanding subparagraph (A) the department shall provide the manifest user with a reasonable opportunity to notify the department of any incorrect use of the recycling manifest, as described in subparagraph (A), and to provide the department with the appropriate manifest fee payment without additional fines, penalties, or payment of the error correction fee.
(5) The department may adopt regulations to implement and administer the manifest fee system imposed pursuant to this subdivision.
(b) For purposes of subdivision (a), a California Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest means either of the following:
(1) A manifest document printed and supplied by the state for a shipment initiated on and before September 4, 2006.
(2) The Uniform Hazardous Waste Manifest printed by a source registered with the United States Environmental Protection Agency for a shipment initiated on and after September 5, 2006, if the manifest originates from a generator located in California, is received by the designated facility located in California where the manifest is signed and terminated, or is imported or exported through a point of entry or exit in California.
(c) On and after July 1, 1999, commencing with 1999–2000 fiscal year and annually thereafter, the department shall expend, upon appropriation by the Legislature in the annual Budget Act, not less than one million fifty thousand dollars ($1,050,000) from the manifest fees, deposited in the Hazardous Waste Control Account, to establish a program to encourage hazardous waste generators to implement pollution prevention measures. The program shall be administered pursuant to administrative and expenditure criteria to be established by the Legislature.
(d) The manifest fees shall be deposited in the Hazardous Waste Control Account and be available for expenditure, upon appropriation by the Legislature.
(e) For purposes of this section, "air compliance solvent" means a solvent, including aqueous solutions, that are required or approved for use by regulations adopted by the State Air Resources Board, an air pollution control district, or an air quality management district, to meet air emission standards adopted by that board or district and, pursuant to those regulations, is required to be used instead of another solvent that was used and recycled prior to the adoption of those regulations.
* SEC. 29. It is the intent of the Legislature that any provision of Section 25205.2, 25205.17, 25205.21, or 25205.22 of the Health and Safety Code, as amended or added at the 1993 session of the 1993–94 Regular Session of the Legislature, that reduces or eliminates hazardous waste facility fees required to be paid under existing law, shall provide amnesty from those fees not yet paid for all persons who failed to pay the required fee under that law. It is the further intent of the Legislature that, except as otherwise provided in subdivision (f) of Section 25205.2 of the Health and Safety Code, those persons who paid the then applicable fees are not entitled to any refund of the fees paid.