Laws, Regulations & Annotations
Business Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2013
Sales and Use Tax Annotations
335.0000 LEASES OF MOBILE TRANSPORTATION EQUIPMENT— Regulation 1661
335.0021 First Functional Use Out of State. A ready-mix concrete truck was purchased by a lessor outside California. It was first functionally used outside California by the lessee and was so used for over 90 days before entry into California. [See note below.]
The subsequent use of the truck by the lessor in California is not subject to tax. Since the out-of-state lease of the mobile transportation equipment is considered as the lessor's own use, and not a sale or purchase under the Sales and Use Tax Law, the subsequent lease of such mobile transportation equipment by the lessor in California is not subject to sales or use tax. 9/12/88. (Am. 2006–1; Am. 2008–1).
(Note: For the period October 2, 2004 through June 30, 2007, under certain conditions any vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased outside of California and brought into the state within 12 months from the date of its purchase is presumed to be acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in California and subject to use tax.) (Regulation 1620(b)(5).)