Laws, Regulations & Annotations
Business Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2014
Sales and Use Tax Annotations
325.0000 INTERSTATE AND FOREIGN COMMERCE—Regulation 1620
(a) IN GENERAL—SHIPMENTS INTO CALIFORNIA FROM POINTS OUTSIDE STATE
325.0185 Use or Storage for Purposes of the Six-Month Test. An aircraft purchased from a retailer outside California was first functionally used outside this state and brought into California within 90 days after its purchase. [See note below.] To determine whether the property was used or stored outside California one-half or more of the time during the six-month period immediately following its entry into this state, both the use and the storage of the property during that six-month period are important and relevant. During this six-month test period, the aircraft could be both stored and used or only stored or only used. For this test, the particular type of use or storage, such as flight time or repair time or hangar time, is irrelevant. The type of use or storage may become relevant if the aircraft fails the test to determine whether it was purchased for use in California, and the purchaser then seeks an exemption from use tax under sections 6366 or 6366.1. 9/9/99. (2000–2). (Am. 2006–1; Am. 2008–1).
(Note: For the period October 2, 2004 through June 30, 2007, under certain conditions any vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased outside of California and brought into the state within 12 months from the date of its purchase is presumed to be acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in California and subject to use tax.) (Regulation 1620(b)(5).)