Laws, Regulations & Annotations
Business Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2017
Sales and Use Tax Annotations
325.0000 INTERSTATE AND FOREIGN COMMERCE—Regulation 1620
(a) IN GENERAL—SHIPMENTS INTO CALIFORNIA FROM POINTS OUTSIDE STATE
325.0103 Repair Is Use. A California resident purchased and took possession of a vehicle in Europe. He used the vehicle in Europe for about a month at which time the vehicle was involved in an accident and was damaged. He returned to California about 60 days after he purchased the vehicle. Repairs to the vehicle took an additional 60 days. The vehicle was then shipped to the buyer in California.
Repair of the vehicle was an exercise of a right of ownership by the buyer. In determining whether the vehicle was used outside California for 90 days or more, the time required for repair should be included. 12/8/87. (Am. 2006–1; Am. 2008–1).
(Note: For the period October 2, 2004 through June 30, 2007, under certain conditions any vehicle, vessel, or aircraft purchased outside of California and brought into the state within 12 months from the date of its purchase is presumed to be acquired for storage, use, or other consumption in California and subject to use tax.) (Regulation 1620(b)(5).)