INSPECTIONS




INSPECTIONS

The BOE conducts inspections of all businesses selling
cigarettes and other tobacco products. Inspections are
conducted by the BOE Investigations Division.

Wholesaler inspections are not scheduled but are conducted
during regular business hours.

Distributors will typically receive contact
from the BOE before an inspection.

We will:
= ldentify ourselves with BOE ID
= Explain our inspection process

= Ask the person in charge for their
identification and relationship to
the business (i.e., owner, employee)




We will also:

= Request permission to
conduct the inspection,
review your invoices, and
for access to any secured
cigarette/tobacco storage
areas.

= Check that you have the
appropriate licenses and
permits, and properly
displayed if required.
= SR, LWQ, CW, TW, LDQ, CR, CP

= Other business licenses that may
be required.

= Verify that our information
for your business is current.



A n d V e r I fy t h a t nmm The Sale of Tobacco Products to Persons Under 21 Years

of Age Is Prohibited by Law and Subject to Penalties

= The STAKE Act sign is posted. e 800-5 ASK-2.1D'
If not visible or worn, we will " ald dentifation May Be Required

T g b st by ezt
0 S, Gowend o shlred s whol o 1 or B ang Probsiom Code Section 27952

provide a new sign.

= All California tax-stamped
cigarettes are affixed with
valid stamps.

= All cigarettes comply with the
California Cigarette Fire Safety
and Firefighter Protection Act
(FSC).
Note: As of 9/22/09 flavored cigarettes,

except Menthol, were banned from sale
in the U.S. and are subject to seizure.




California Tobacco Directory

Wholesalers and Distributors may only
= sell
= offer for sale, or
= possess for sale in California

cigarette brands and roll-your-own tobacco products listed in
the Attorney General's California Tobacco Directory.

State of California Department of Justice
Office of the Attorney General

CALIFORNIA TOBACCO DIRECTORY

http://ag.ca.gov/tobacco/directory.htm

Note: California Distributors may possess unlisted cigarette brands or roll-your-
own tobacco products only if sales and delivery of these brands are out of state.



When a brand is pending removal from the CA Tobacco
Directory for cause,

= The Attorney General’s (AG’s) office will notify the manufacturer,
and all distributors and wholesalers of its pending action.

= For 40 days from notice of pending removal, a licensed Distributor
may purchase, stamp or sell the affected product, and a licensed
Wholesaler may purchase or sell the product.

= Prior to a sale of the affected product, and no later than 7 days
after receiving the AG’s notice, a Distributor or Wholesaler must
notify each of its existing customers of the pending removal of the
product from the Directory.

= No later than 7 days from AG’s issuance of the Notice of Removal,
the Distributor/Wholesaler must provide a copy of this notice to
its existing customers.

[Retailers have 60 days after the date of removal to possess,
transport, and sell the tax-paid product.]
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