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The BOE conducts inspections of all businesses selling     
cigarettes and tobacco products.  

 We will: 
 Identify ourselves, show our BOE  

ID, and give our business card. 

 Explain why we are there and what  
we will be inspecting. 

 Ask the person behind the counter for  
an ID and their relation to the business 
(i.e., owner, relative, employee, etc.). 

 Ask to see your last 12 months of  
tobacco product invoices. 

 

 
 



We will also: 

 Ask where cigarette and tobacco  
products are stored and permission  
to inspect these areas. 

 Request access to any secured  
cigarette/tobacco storage areas. 

 Check to see that your retail cigarette/tobacco license 
(LRQ) and seller’s permit (SR) are posted. 

 Verify that our registration information for your business  
is current. 
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 Verify the STAKE Act sign is posted.  
If not visible, we will provide a sign. 
 

 Ensure that single sticks of  
cigarettes are not being sold. 
 

 Check cigarette packs are stamped 
and scan the stamps to verify that 
tax stamps are valid. 
 

 Verify all cigarettes are listed on the  
CA Tobacco Directory. 

 Note:  As of 9/22/09 flavored cigarettes are  
banned from sale in the U.S. and are subject  
to seizure. 
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 New Design: 
 Primarily yellow-gold 
 Color shift - left edge changes from green to blue when tilted 

 Unique 6-digit serial number; no 2 stamps have the same number. 

 Stamp Validator: 
 allows you to determine if the stamp  

is authentic 
 to purchase, call 1-916-341-6923 

 Old stamp shown above is still valid   
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OLD NEW 



Only cigarette brands and roll-your-own tobacco products 
listed in the Attorney General's California Tobacco Directory 
may be:  

 sold  
 offered for sale, or  
 possessed for sale in California  

For the current list of tobacco product manufacturers and 
their brands that are certified for sale in California, check the 
Attorney General’s website at: 
 

http://ag.ca.gov/tobacco/directory.htm 
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When products are  
removed from the CA  
Tobacco Directory, the  
law allows retailers to 

• possess 
• transport, and                     
• sell 
 

tax-stamped cigarettes for 60 days from the effective 
date of the product’s removal.  After the 60 days, the 
“delisted” products may be seized. 

 

NOTE:   Your distributor may offer credit for returned merchandise that 
                has been removed from the Tobacco Directory. 
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   We will also: 
 Verify that all cigarettes comply 

with the California Cigarette Fire 
Safety and Firefighter  Protection 
Act. 
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 Only cigarettes certified by the 
manufacturer and approved by the 
Office of the State Fire Marshall as 
self-extinguishing may be sold in 
California (FSC). 
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